Blogging

Hello Grazia!

After a number of emails, phone calls and CV updates, I finally got the email I’d been hoping for. I had been offered a placement at Grazia! And words could not describe my excitement. I ran up and down my student house telling my house-mates the good news,v  while they jumped up and down with me in excitement. After blasting out a number of cheesy feel good tracks and singing along with a massive grin covering my face, I rang up my family to tell them the exciting news.

Grazia 3 covers

Once the news had time to set in, of course one of my first thought was, oh my goodness what on earth am I going to wear!? Soon followed by many scary thoughts like what if they don’t like me, what if I get lost in London on a task they’ve sent me to do, but mainly what if I’m not good enough to do it. However everyone quickly reassured me, reminding me I was there to learn and I wasn’t expected to know everything. Although I really wanted to make a good impression, so I started getting some ideas together and preparing numerous outfit choices.

The day finally came and luckily the week directly before I had been working with S Magazine, giving me an insight into the magazine world and preparing me for the weeks ahead. Of course I got there super early, standard Lydia style. So I wondered around my new surroundings and got a feel of the area. Shaftesbury Avenue has everything from big high street shops, to boutiques, to massive theatres, showing all the top London shows. It’s a part of London I haven’t explored much before, so that was exciting in itself. I decided quarter too was a reasonable time to head into the building and wait in reception, so I sat their nervously to be greeted. Hannah soon came down to meet me and immediately put me at ease, as she was so friendly and relaxed. Not the Devil Wears Prada assistant I was apprehensive about at all, in fact quite the opposite. After a tour around the office I was quickly put to work, as a big fashion shoot had happened over the days before I arrived, so there was a lot of gorgeous clothes, accessories and shoes to be sorted.

My days at Grazia were filled with amazing designer pieces, talking with the fashion team about work they had on and helping them wherever possible. But most importantly getting a feel of how the magazine comes together, getting to know the team, and seeing how they got to where they are. I loved every minute, and the team at Grazia were so lovely. The whole experience was not the scary and bitchy atmosphere the films portray it to be, and I definitely didn’t feel the Andy Sachs newcomer at the magazine.

Now for the best bit… a few pictures of my time at Grazia…

IMG_4392

IMG_4410

IMG_4471

IMG_4498

IMG_4493

IMG_4472

IMG_4488

IMG_4497

IMG_4499

IMG_4402IMG_4394

IMG_4400

IMG_4399

The trustee returns sheets, me and the other interns got to know these well.

The trustee returns sheets, me and the other interns got to know these well.

One of my jobs was to check the mail, it may sounds boring, but not at Grazia! Invitations to designer events, invites to fashion shows along with free samples and gifts. Cant be bad hey!
One of my jobs was to check the mail, it may sounds boring, but not at Grazia! Invitations to designer events, invites to fashion shows along with free samples and gifts. Cant be bad hey!

IMG_4384 - CopyIMG_4385

IMG_4389IMG_4390

IMG_4379 - CopyIMG_4380 - Copy

Leave a Reply

